[mythtv-users] Deleting recording in progress doesn't stop recording

John P Poet jppoet at gmail.com
Sat May 8 16:56:39 UTC 2010

On Sat, May 8, 2010 at 4:32 AM, Yeechang Lee <ylee at pobox.com> wrote:
> John P Poet <jppoet at gmail.com> says:
>> The argument for allowing the program to continue recording, is so
>> it will be complete, if you decide to undelete it.
>> An easy way to stop the recording is to select it from the TODO
>> (Upcoming recordings) screen.  A menu will pop up with a STOP
>> option.
> Yes but, if I have deleted a recording, presumably I am not interested
> in seeing the rest of it. Shouldn't the default action be (as it was
> pre-0.23) that the recording process stops and the tuner it was using
> is freed? If I want, for some reason, the behavior that 0.23 has
> introduced, I can always manually move the recording in progress into
> the Deleted group.
> When I saw the new behavior in 0.23, I first thought that surely
> functionality had also been added so that the scheduler would--if it
> needed a tuner and a deleted recording was using it--automatically
> grab it, but that is not the case.

I have a feeling that a patch that achieved that behaviour, would be
accepted ;-)

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list