[mythtv-users] Deleting recording in progress doesn't stop recording

Yeechang Lee ylee at pobox.com
Sat May 8 12:12:26 UTC 2010

Mike Perkins <mikep at randomtraveller.org.uk> says:
> > Undelete it? How? On the filesystem level or MythTV level?
> > 
> > I though that the most common Linux filesystems didn't support
> > undelete operations...(?)
> The recording wasn't being physically deleted, it was being moved to
> the Deleted storage group. Presumably it would then disappear when
> the space was required.

Yes, that's exactly how the "Auto Expire Instead of Delete Recording"
option--which has existed since 0.21--works. Quite handy on

My original message is regarding the fact that, as of 0.23, MythTV
continues to record a recording in progress after one deletes it and
it is auto-moved into the Deleted group.

Frontend/backend:	P4 3.0GHz, 1.5TB software RAID 5 array
Backend:		Quad-core Xeon 1.6GHz, 6.6TB sw RAID 6
Video inputs:		Four high-definition over FireWire/OTA
Accessories:		47" 1080p LCD, 5.1 digital, and MX-600

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list