[mythtv-users] Deleted Recordings Not Being Removed

Hika van den Hoven hikavdh at gmail.com
Mon Apr 19 15:59:47 UTC 2021


Hoi Jay,

Monday, April 19, 2021, 5:09:48 PM, you wrote:

> On 4/18/2021 8:45 PM, Bill Meek wrote:
>> On 4/18/21 9:10 PM, Jay Foster wrote:
>>> On 3/20/21 1:04 PM, Hika van den Hoven wrote:
>>>> Hoi Jay,
>>>>
>>>> Saturday, March 20, 2021, 8:24:41 PM, you wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> I am using MythTV 0.28.  I have long ago set up a Deleted Recordings
>>>>> Group and configured mythtv to remove recordings from there after 24
>>>>> hours.  This gives me an easy 1 day undo option.  This has worked fine
>>>>> for years.
>>>>> Looking at the backend status from mythweb, I see almost 600 GB of space
>>>>> used by deleted recordings.  That seems like a lot to me, since they
>>>>> should be removed within 24 hours of me deleting the recording.
>>>>> Using the Recorded Programs from mythweb and selecting the Deleted group
>>>>> shows 222 programs in that group.  This looks like something has gone
>>>>> wrong with mythtv removing deleted recordings.
>>>>> Any ideas how to fix this?
>>>>> Jay
>>>>> _______________________________________________
>>>> I doubt you set up this group, as it is a system group. Default
>>>> behavior is to keep deleted recordings until the space is needed, but
>>>> you can change it in the settings. Look there.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Tot mails,
>>>>     Hika                            mailto:hikavdh at gmail.com
>>>>
>>>> "Zonder hoop kun je niet leven
>>>> Zonder leven is er geen hoop
>>>> Het eeuwige dilemma
>>>> Zeker als je hoop moet vernietigen om te kunnen overleven!"
>>>>
>>>> De lerende Mens
>>> Deleted recordings are just no longer being "deleted".  I double checked Setup-> Video -> General -> Time to retain deleted recordings (days):
>>> It is set to 1 (1 day), yet deleted recordings never get deleted.  My HD is nearly full and I have more than 1 TB of undeleted "deleted"
>>> recordings.  How do I make these actually get deleted?
>>> Jay
>> Are there any entries in the output of this: mythbackend --printexpire --quiet
>>
>> If so, then see if Allow Recordings to Auto-expire is set in some/all recording
>> rules, especially templates.
>>
> The output of 'mythbackend --printexpire --quiet' produced a list with
> over 300 recordings.
> I believe that I have always never enabled Allow Recordings to 
> Auto-expire, since I never want any recording to auto expire, only after
> I manually delete it (after watching it).  I do not see what auto expire
> has to do with not deleting recordings that I selected *delete* for.
> Jay
> _______________________________________________

Could it be that you have yourself done things in the recording
directory. Like changing ownership or write permissions?


Tot mails,
  Hika                            mailto:hikavdh at gmail.com

"Zonder hoop kun je niet leven
Zonder leven is er geen hoop
Het eeuwige dilemma
Zeker als je hoop moet vernietigen om te kunnen overleven!"

De lerende Mens



More information about the mythtv-users mailing list