[mythtv-users] Deleted Recordings Not Being Removed
jayf0ster at roadrunner.com
Mon Apr 19 15:09:48 UTC 2021
On 4/18/2021 8:45 PM, Bill Meek wrote:
> On 4/18/21 9:10 PM, Jay Foster wrote:
>> On 3/20/21 1:04 PM, Hika van den Hoven wrote:
>>> Hoi Jay,
>>> Saturday, March 20, 2021, 8:24:41 PM, you wrote:
>>>> I am using MythTV 0.28. I have long ago set up a Deleted Recordings
>>>> Group and configured mythtv to remove recordings from there after 24
>>>> hours. This gives me an easy 1 day undo option. This has worked fine
>>>> for years.
>>>> Looking at the backend status from mythweb, I see almost 600 GB of space
>>>> used by deleted recordings. That seems like a lot to me, since they
>>>> should be removed within 24 hours of me deleting the recording.
>>>> Using the Recorded Programs from mythweb and selecting the Deleted group
>>>> shows 222 programs in that group. This looks like something has gone
>>>> wrong with mythtv removing deleted recordings.
>>>> Any ideas how to fix this?
>>> I doubt you set up this group, as it is a system group. Default
>>> behavior is to keep deleted recordings until the space is needed, but
>>> you can change it in the settings. Look there.
>>> Tot mails,
>>> Hika mailto:hikavdh at gmail.com
>>> "Zonder hoop kun je niet leven
>>> Zonder leven is er geen hoop
>>> Het eeuwige dilemma
>>> Zeker als je hoop moet vernietigen om te kunnen overleven!"
>>> De lerende Mens
>> Deleted recordings are just no longer being "deleted". I double checked Setup-> Video -> General -> Time to retain deleted recordings (days):
>> It is set to 1 (1 day), yet deleted recordings never get deleted. My HD is nearly full and I have more than 1 TB of undeleted "deleted"
>> recordings. How do I make these actually get deleted?
> Are there any entries in the output of this: mythbackend --printexpire --quiet
> If so, then see if Allow Recordings to Auto-expire is set in some/all recording
> rules, especially templates.
The output of 'mythbackend --printexpire --quiet' produced a list with
over 300 recordings.
I believe that I have always never enabled Allow Recordings to
Auto-expire, since I never want any recording to auto expire, only after
I manually delete it (after watching it). I do not see what auto expire
has to do with not deleting recordings that I selected *delete* for.
More information about the mythtv-users