[mythtv-users] Prioritize new episodes...
Michael T. Dean
mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Fri Sep 16 04:48:26 UTC 2011
On 09/15/2011 07:50 PM, Tom Furie wrote:
> On Thu, Sep 15, 2011 at 02:53:35PM -0400, Michael T. Dean wrote:
>> Record new and delete old is not auto-expire. That's why the episodes
>> aren't just stuck in a Deleted group and left until your hard drive
>> fills up. They are actually deleted once the new episode is recorded.
> That's a good point. I just assumed (my mistake) that it behaved the
> same as unwatched recordings being removed to free up needed space.
OK, got a chance to look at the code--and I stand corrected. It uses
the same code that auto-expire uses, but it just calls the code
immediately. That means it is affected by the value of:
If enabled, programs that have been marked as watched and are
Auto-Expired will be re-recorded if they are shown again.
in mythfrontend settings under Utilities/Setup|Setup|General
settings***. The default value for the setting is "enabled", meaning
that by default all shows will be marked to allow re-record when expired
(or deleted for "record new and delete old"). If you disable that
setting, than any show that's expired but not marked as watched will be
deleted without allowing re-record.
*** But it does not respect the flag that allows you to disable
auto-expire on the recording for "record new and delete old" rules--for
that you would need to set the preserve flag. The auto-expire flag only
comes into play when your file system fills up and shows are
auto-expired to make room for new recordings.
More information about the mythtv-users