[mythtv-users] Best way to transcode SD shows on HD channels

Kris B. krisbee at krisbee.com
Wed Nov 2 13:33:16 UTC 2011

On Wednesday, November 02, 2011 9:06 AM, "Roger H"
<mythtvuser1818 at gmail.com> wrote:

On Wed, Nov 2, 2011 at 8:12 AM, Kris B. <[1]krisbee at krisbee.com>

  That's it.. it isn't a universal script, it was a Kris script
  :)  I just
  posted it so someone could bend it to their setup (not too

  Sorry for the newbie question, but what do you mean by a
  universal script?
  Also, you say your script modifies the database to point to
  the new file.  Is this type of database modification
  considered safe (I know the devs don't like people playing
  with it)?
  Thirdly, what were to happen if you were watching the program
  when it finished transcoding?  I have had cases where I have
  suspected (not proven) that if MythTranscode finishes while
  you are watching a the same program, it will get corrupted for
  the next time you watch it (may be related to setting a book
  mark, but as I said, none of this has been proven.

By Universal script, I mean I didn't put any particular logic
like a real developer would, who would probably not pass any of
those variables through but query directly.

Is the database modification safe?  I think it is okay - it is a
simple update query, not a whole rebuild or anything.  Been using
it daily (usually about three or four shows) for three months or
so now, no issues.

Watching the untranscoded program and then it finishes the
transcode... hmmm.. I don't know, to be honest.  I don't have any
jobs running on the backend from 4pm-11pm because I didn't want
to overtax my system, or make it sluggish.  I use the backend as
my main computer (mostly websurfing and ham radio logging, but
other things as well) and during "primetime" I wanted it snappy,
especially if I am recording three shows and watching a fourth on
the frontend.

I imagine you will either have a lockup of the file since it is
in use and it will fail to delete the original mpg, but the
database will still point to the new file, so when you go back to
watch it will play fine, but probably not have a clue where that
bookmark was (though I might be wrong), and you will have the
extra mpg file - OR it will delete and it will either crash just
the watching part and bounce you out of the view screen, or
perhaps a full on crash of frontend (though I doubt that).

Since I don't transcode EVERYTHING due to the speed on my
machine, I just never ran across it yet.

Kris B.
[2]krisbee at krisbee.com


1. mailto:krisbee at krisbee.com
2. mailto:krisbee at krisbee.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://www.mythtv.org/pipermail/mythtv-users/attachments/20111102/6cf70ffc/attachment.html 

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list