[mythtv-users] US MythTV users: will your recordings be 1 hour off on March 11th?

Grant McChesney grantmc at gmail.com
Tue Jan 16 22:49:16 UTC 2007

On 1/16/07, Ross Campbell <ross.campbell at gmail.com> wrote:
> For those who don't know or forgot, daylight savings time rules change
> in most parts of the US this year... DST will start 3 weeks earlier
> and end 1 week later thanks to the brilliant minds behind the Energy
> Policy act of 2005 -
> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Energy_Policy_Act_of_2005
> So what?!
> Well, your NTP time sync keeps your system time correct, but your
> TIMEZONE is locally interpreted, so anyone with old/custom/unsupported
> Linux distros risks having their mythtv recordings off by ONE HOUR for
> the duration of the timezone change periods (4 weeks out of the year).
> That's probably not what you want... and the change starts March 11th
> this year - less than two months from now.

There's a way to test if you have the latest tzdata with the date
command.  For example, I live in Mountain Standard Time.  After DST
starts on Mar 11, Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) should be -6 GMT:

Before DST:
[grant at grant ~]$ date --date="Mar 10 15:00:00 UTC 2007"
Sat Mar 10 08:00:00 MST 2007

After DST:
[grant at grant ~]$ date --date="Mar 11 15:00:00 UTC 2007"
Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 MDT 2007

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list