[mythtv-users] frontend setup (NFS ?) need clarification

George Nassas gnassas at mac.com
Sat Dec 31 13:27:39 EST 2005

On 31-Dec-05, at 2:41 AM, chris at cpr.homelinux.net wrote:

> Deleting a movie
> from the drive doesn't remove it from the database, so it will
> continue to appear (with image) until you re-scan your media
> directory from the setup page.

This behaviour is controlled by the by the "Newly scanned files 
browsable" setting in the video setup screen. When the flag is off 
mythvideo behaves as above and when checked it rescans the video 
directory to confirm the presence of each file and to add new ones that 
haven't yet been scanned. Personally I find it handier to have the flag 
checked although it costs a bit more in startup time.

The rest of the post is correct.

- George

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list