[mythtv] Feature: Multiple "mark as watched"

Tobias Kaminsky tobias at kaminsky.me
Sun Sep 18 14:23:28 UTC 2011

I have forgotten the patch...


On 18/09/11 16:22, Tobias Kaminsky wrote:
> Hello,
> I have created a patch. This patch replaces (for now) the "marked as
> watched" button.
> Now a popup appears with all users defined in the database.
> new Table user:
>   `id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
>   `name` varchar(50) NOT NULL,
>   PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
> new Table recordings_watched:
> CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `recorded_watched` (
>   `chanid` int(10) NOT NULL,
>   `starttime` datetime NOT NULL,
>   `userid` int(10) NOT NULL,
>   PRIMARY KEY (`chanid`,`starttime`,`userid`)
> The next step is to add a popup where one can specify which user(s) uses
> mythtv.
> Then I will re-add the button "marked as watched", which will then mark
> the recording as watched by the logged in user(s).
> Tobi
> On 18/09/11 04:38, Christian Szpilfogel wrote:
>> On 16/09/2011 6:33 PM, Raymond Wagner wrote:
>>> On Fri, 16 Sep 2011 22:01:55 +0100, Richard Morton
>>> <richard.e.morton at gmail.com>  wrote:
>>>>  From the frontend startup you can pick which users(!) are watching, this
>>>> should also ideally be available from the recordings screen via the menu
>>>> button. (You would likely need to set a primary and passive users - more
>>>> of this later)
>>> Personally, I think that is just making things way too complex on the
>>> user.  At some point, you're going to make it take more time to manage who
>>> is actually in the room watching at any given moment to set the watched
>>> flag, than to just have those secondary users mark themselves as watched on
>>> their own time.  Automation is only useful when it's making you do less
>>> work.
>> I tend to agree. The way I separate things now between users in our 
>> household is with Recording Groups. Of course today it means we have to 
>> have a convention to agree when everyone has watched something (which is 
>> faulty).
>> It might make sense to allow multiple recording groups to be added to a 
>> recording where each recording group is a person or a community of 
>> interest. When all recording groups have deleted a show then the show 
>> itself is deleted.
>> Usually we know when we set a recording who will want to watch it. So 
>> you could simply add all interested recording groups at that point. If 
>> it changes later than you would just modify the included recording groups.
>> _______________________________________________
>> mythtv-dev mailing list
>> mythtv-dev at mythtv.org
>> http://www.mythtv.org/mailman/listinfo/mythtv-dev
> _______________________________________________
> mythtv-dev mailing list
> mythtv-dev at mythtv.org
> http://www.mythtv.org/mailman/listinfo/mythtv-dev

-------------- next part --------------
An embedded and charset-unspecified text was scrubbed...
Name: multiple-user.patch
Url: http://www.mythtv.org/pipermail/mythtv-dev/attachments/20110918/8fb0fc89/attachment.pl 

More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list