[mythtv] [mythtv-commits] Ticket #7987: Deleting from internal player does not update Watch Recordings list

John Pilkington J.Pilk at tesco.net
Sun Sep 26 07:39:28 UTC 2010

On 26/09/10 00:23, Michael T. Dean wrote:
> On 09/25/2010 03:38 PM, MythTV wrote:
>> #7987: Deleting from internal player does not update Watch Recordings
>> list
>> Comment (by anonymous):
>> (using v0.23 as backend and frontend)
>> There are three dialogs available to list and delete recordings:
>> [A] frontend: Media Library>> Watch Recordings
>> [B] frontend: Manage recordings>> Previously Recorded
>> [C] MythWeb: Recorded Programs
>> [D] UPnP client, e.g. PlayStation3 (list only)
>> The list of recordings in these dialogs are inconsistent. I have an
>> instance where:
>> (1) [B] displays some entries that don't show up in [A], [C] and [D] (old
>> entries that may have been deleted)
>> (2) [B] doesn't display some entries that do show up in [A], [C] and [D]
>> (entries of truncated recordings)
>> (3) using [A] to delete an entry gets reflected in [A] and [C] but not in
>> [B] and [D]
>> (4) using [B] to delete an entry does not get reflected in [A], [C] and
>> [D]
>> I get the same results using a frontend on the same machine as the
>> backend
>> as I do using a frontend on a different machine.
> Franklin,
> [B] (Manage Recordings|Previously Recorded) is not a list of current
> recordings--it's a list of the system's /complete/ recording
> history--every episode ever recorded. It's to allow you to set shows
> you've already recorded to allow re-recording. No entry is ever deleted
> from that screen by MythTV--only you can permanently remove entries from
> that screen. Deleting entries from that screen does not affect actual
> recordings--only recording history (thus, duplicate matching). Normally,
> however, you will never delete entries from that screen. Instead, just
> select the episode and select the entry in the menu that says to allow
> re-record.
> [D] (UPnP Client) provides a list of recordings, as determined /at the
> time when the UPnP scan was last run/. Therefore, you'll have to wait
> for half an hour or so for deleted recordings to be removed from that
> list. This will change in the future and will be more up-to-date, but a
> lot of changes need to be made, first.
> Mike

Mike:  I do sometimes delete an entry from the 'Previously Recorded' 
screen:-  when a recording has been bad in some way and I want to repeat 
it.  Otherwise I just get told that it has been recorded and I won't 
know to reschedule it.  Is there a better way of doing this?

Really a question for the user list, but just following the thread.

John P

More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list