[mythtv] [mythtv-commits] Ticket #7987: Deleting from internal player does not update Watch Recordings list

Bill Williamson bill at bbqninja.com
Sun Sep 26 07:56:01 UTC 2010

On Sun, Sep 26, 2010 at 5:39 PM, John Pilkington <J.Pilk at tesco.net> wrote:
> On 26/09/10 00:23, Michael T. Dean wrote:
>> On 09/25/2010 03:38 PM, MythTV wrote:
>>> #7987: Deleting from internal player does not update Watch Recordings
>>> list
>>> Comment (by anonymous):
>>> (using v0.23 as backend and frontend)
>>> There are three dialogs available to list and delete recordings:
>>> [A] frontend: Media Library>> Watch Recordings
>>> [B] frontend: Manage recordings>> Previously Recorded
>>> [C] MythWeb: Recorded Programs
>>> [D] UPnP client, e.g. PlayStation3 (list only)
>>> The list of recordings in these dialogs are inconsistent. I have an
>>> instance where:
>>> (1) [B] displays some entries that don't show up in [A], [C] and [D] (old
>>> entries that may have been deleted)
>>> (2) [B] doesn't display some entries that do show up in [A], [C] and [D]
>>> (entries of truncated recordings)
>>> (3) using [A] to delete an entry gets reflected in [A] and [C] but not in
>>> [B] and [D]
>>> (4) using [B] to delete an entry does not get reflected in [A], [C] and
>>> [D]
>>> I get the same results using a frontend on the same machine as the
>>> backend
>>> as I do using a frontend on a different machine.
>> Franklin,
>> [B] (Manage Recordings|Previously Recorded) is not a list of current
>> recordings--it's a list of the system's /complete/ recording
>> history--every episode ever recorded. It's to allow you to set shows
>> you've already recorded to allow re-recording. No entry is ever deleted
>> from that screen by MythTV--only you can permanently remove entries from
>> that screen. Deleting entries from that screen does not affect actual
>> recordings--only recording history (thus, duplicate matching). Normally,
>> however, you will never delete entries from that screen. Instead, just
>> select the episode and select the entry in the menu that says to allow
>> re-record.
>> [D] (UPnP Client) provides a list of recordings, as determined /at the
>> time when the UPnP scan was last run/. Therefore, you'll have to wait
>> for half an hour or so for deleted recordings to be removed from that
>> list. This will change in the future and will be more up-to-date, but a
>> lot of changes need to be made, first.
>> Mike
> Mike:  I do sometimes delete an entry from the 'Previously Recorded'
> screen:-  when a recording has been bad in some way and I want to repeat it.
>  Otherwise I just get told that it has been recorded and I won't know to
> reschedule it.  Is there a better way of doing this?
> Really a question for the user list, but just following the thread.

Two ways.

1. choose "delete and allow rerecord" when you delete it
2. do exactly what you're doing

What you're using prev rec for is correct.

The thread starter was expecting it to delete recordings, which it doesn't.

More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list