[mythtv] [mythtv-commits] Ticket #7994: Clear the bookmark at the end of playback

Jim Stichnoth stichnot at gmail.com
Sat Jan 30 19:26:21 UTC 2010

On Sat, Jan 30, 2010 at 10:04 AM, Michael T. Dean
<mtdean at thirdcontact.com> wrote:
> On 01/30/2010 10:02 AM, MythTV wrote:
>> #7994: Clear the bookmark at the end of playback
>>  When exiting playback, normally the bookmark is set.  However, if playback
>>  exits near the end of the recording/video, the bookmark is not set,
>>  causing inconsistent behavior next time the recording/video is played.
>>  This is because when exiting in the middle of the program, it always
>>  resumes from the same point, but when exiting at the end, the resume point
>>  depends on whether a bookmark was previously set.
>>  It would be more consistent to always clear the bookmark when playback
>>  exits near the end.  This patch does that.
> I considered doing this when fixing
> http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/7049 , but after much discussion with
> various people, I was told that many users set "permanent" bookmarks on
> certain files, so we leave the bookmark for them.  I've been told some
> do this to ensure a specific preview pixmap and others do it because a
> couple user start watching the show together, but they end up watching
> the end separately, or ...

Interesting, but very fragile because you'd better not exit playback
before the end otherwise your bookmark will change.  (Unless I'm
mistaken, the bookmark is always set when exiting not close to the

> I think that a user who wants the bookmark cleared after using it needs
> to enable:
> Clear bookmark on playback
> Automatically clear the bookmark on a recording when the recording is
> played back.  If disabled, you can mark the beginning with rewind then
> save position.

I have this enabled, and usually it does what I want, but if I
"accidentally" set a bookmark during playback (sometimes I press
Select to see where I am in the recording) and then watch to the end,
subsequent playback starts at a seemingly random place.  On the other
hand, if I exit manually before the end, it *always* resumes at the
same point.  Hence the inconsistency.  (I consider setting a bookmark
at the end to be essentially equivalent to clearing the bookmark.)

BTW, it's generally the kids, and not me, who are in the habit of
watching the same show dozens of times...

> Unfortunately, we don't have one that says, "If I don't set a new
> bookmark while watching this show, clear any bookmarks upon exit," (and
> we don't even really have a good way to find out when the last bookmark
> was set).

I'm eagerly awaiting your new uber-bookmark feature. :)  In any case,
if the current behavior has already been discussed and decided on,
feel free to close the ticket, and in the meantime, the patch is still
there for anyone who can't wait.


More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list