[mythtv] [mythtv-commits] Ticket #7994: Clear the bookmark at the end of playback

Michael T. Dean mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Sat Jan 30 19:42:20 UTC 2010

On 01/30/2010 02:26 PM, Jim Stichnoth wrote:
> On Sat, Jan 30, 2010 at 10:04 AM, Michael T. Dean wrote:
>> On 01/30/2010 10:02 AM, MythTV wrote:
>>> #7994: Clear the bookmark at the end of playback
>>>  When exiting playback, normally the bookmark is set.  However, if playback
>>>  exits near the end of the recording/video, the bookmark is not set,
>>>  causing inconsistent behavior next time the recording/video is played.
>>>  This is because when exiting in the middle of the program, it always
>>>  resumes from the same point, but when exiting at the end, the resume point
>>>  depends on whether a bookmark was previously set.
>>>  It would be more consistent to always clear the bookmark when playback
>>>  exits near the end.  This patch does that.
>> I considered doing this when fixing
>> http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/7049 , but after much discussion with
>> various people, I was told that many users set "permanent" bookmarks on
>> certain files, so we leave the bookmark for them.  I've been told some
>> do this to ensure a specific preview pixmap and others do it because a
>> couple user start watching the show together, but they end up watching
>> the end separately, or ...
> Interesting, but very fragile because you'd better not exit playback
> before the end otherwise your bookmark will change.  (Unless I'm
> mistaken, the bookmark is always set when exiting not close to the
> end.)

Another setting in the labyrinthian maze of
impossible-to-test-every-configuration code...

Action on playback exit
 - Just exit
 - Save position and exit
 - Always prompt (excluding Live TV)
 - Always prompt (including Live TV)
 - Prompt for Live TV only
If set to prompt, a menu will be displayed when you exit playback mode. 
The options available will allow you to save your position, delete the
recording, or continue watching.

After all, "It's just one more setting..."

>> I think that a user who wants the bookmark cleared after using it needs
>> to enable:
>> Clear bookmark on playback
>> Automatically clear the bookmark on a recording when the recording is
>> played back.  If disabled, you can mark the beginning with rewind then
>> save position.
> I have this enabled, and usually it does what I want, but if I
> "accidentally" set a bookmark during playback (sometimes I press
> Select to see where I am in the recording) and then watch to the end,
> subsequent playback starts at a seemingly random place.  On the other
> hand, if I exit manually before the end, it *always* resumes at the
> same point.  Hence the inconsistency.  (I consider setting a bookmark
> at the end to be essentially equivalent to clearing the bookmark.)
> BTW, it's generally the kids, and not me, who are in the habit of
> watching the same show dozens of times...
>> Unfortunately, we don't have one that says, "If I don't set a new
>> bookmark while watching this show, clear any bookmarks upon exit," (and
>> we don't even really have a good way to find out when the last bookmark
>> was set).
> I'm eagerly awaiting your new uber-bookmark feature. :)

Yeah, that will allow us to do more with bookmarks--and without all
these annoying settings...  :)

>   In any case,
> if the current behavior has already been discussed and decided on,
> feel free to close the ticket,

The main reason I posted here was so that I didn't unilaterally decide
its fate based on what others have told me (as I'm a watch and delete
guy, I don't use bookmarks except for the occasional interruption during
viewing).  So, I'll leave it open for now and see if there are any
comments one way or the other (here on the list, for anyone considering
commenting :).

>  and in the meantime, the patch is still
> there for anyone who can't wait.

Yes, and thank you for the patch.  It's definitely nice to have it there
for those who want it, even if it doesn't make it into upstream SVN.


More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list