[mythtv] Proposed alternate behaviour for show delete

Brad Templeton brad+mydev at templetons.com
Wed Mar 9 18:59:48 UTC 2005

On Wed, Mar 09, 2005 at 09:34:37AM -0800, Geoffrey Kruse wrote:
> One problem I see with just incrementing the auto expire is that some 
> people use the "allow program to rerecord if auto expired" feature.  
> Thus programs that they watched would never get marked as previously 
> viewed.

I forgot to add to the list that any program which auto-expires with
autoexpire >= 1000 would be moved to oldrecorded, so they will not rerecord.

The reason I bring this up for discussion in advance is that, aside from
the fact it affects various regions of the program which "belong" to different
folks, it's effect will actually be subtle and some may wish to be concerned
about that.

The goal is that the user will see no difference from today's behaviour
    a) The delete programs menu now shows the otherwise invisible deleted
       shows and allows undelete.  (It might get its name changed to
    b) Hard disk space, as shown by df, always shows near-full, and if
       you are sharing your myth filesystem with other programs this would
       create an issue.  However, I believe such filesystem sharing is
       rare and unwise in any event.   If not, there could be
       yet-another-configuration-option to control if delete is delete or

More information about the mythtv-dev mailing list