[mythtv-users] Backend Deleting Files for no Reason - *again*...

Michael T. Dean mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Tue Jan 14 14:07:30 UTC 2020


On 01/14/2020 12:09 AM, Greg Oliver wrote:
>
> And just to note, it deletes no metadata, just the file.  The only 
> reason I notice is that it leaves a blue entry in the GUI.  I then 
> know that file just disappeared.  I guess the blue might be theme 
> dependent, but it is blue for me.

The only time MythTV will ever delete a recording file without deleting 
the recording metadata is when it finishes a transcode and you don't 
have the setting:

Save original files after transcoding (globally)
If enabled and the transcoder is active, the original files will be 
renamed to .old once the transcoding is complete.

enabled.

Check your transcoding settings for the recording rule and/or check to 
see if your key bindings and/or remote mappings might be causing you to 
submit a TV Playback|QUEUETRANSCODE action at some point.

Also note that at various times there have been issues with transcoding 
and some people have said that even when the transcoding fails, MythTV 
will delete the original recording--which is the entire reason for the 
above-mentioned setting.  I think I remember seeing some recent mentions 
of issues with failed transcodings, too.  If a transcode were started, 
it failed, and MythTV deleted the original file, you'd have a recording 
listed with no file associated with it.  Even if you have the above 
setting enabled, your original file may have been renamed to *.old , so 
would need to be renamed without the .old to be available again (and may 
or may not require rebuilding the seek table, depending on various factors).

Mike


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list