[mythtv-users] Ver 31 frontend cannot connect to the database

Mike Carron jmcarron at gmx.com
Wed Nov 25 03:05:07 UTC 2020


On 11/24/20 6:38 PM, Stephen Worthington wrote:
> On Tue, 24 Nov 2020 12:12:20 -0600, you wrote:
>
>> If it truly does work, then the change shouldn't be made in a
>> .cnf file that will be overwritten by a package manager. That
>> could happen at any time, for example 2 years from now when
>> you upgrade to a new distribution. And will have forgotten
>> about the change. Changes like this should go in the same
>> place the bind-address was changed. Just before or after it
>> would be OK.
>>
>> But: your computer, your choice.
> There is no need to fear a config file being overwritten by a package
> update without notice.  There is notice.  If a package is going to
> overwrite a file that has been modified, it will pause and ask you
> what you want to do about the differences between the modified file
> and the new version.  You are given the option of keeping your
> modified version, installing the new package version, or doing a diff
> to see what the problem is.  If you choose to keep your modified
> version, a copy of the new version from the package manager gets put
> in place with a .dpkg-dist extension added, so you can go back later
> and manually apply any changes in the new version.  If you choose to
> install the new package version, the old modified version is kept by
> renaming it to add a .dpkg-old extension, so you can come back later
> and re-modify the new version if necessary.  While package
> installation is paused for you to make a choice, the new version of
> the file is put in place but with a .dpkg-new extension, so that you
> can do diffs and merge things between it and your modified version,
> and then choose to keep your modified version.  All of that process
> works pretty well - the only problem I have with it is when doing a
> full upgrade of the system (eg from 18.04 to 20.04) where I always
> have a number of packages where there are modified files and I have to
> keep on coming back to the PC to check for it having paused on the
> next one.

Does that mean that moving the config file to /etc/mysql/conf.d is
merely unnecessary or is there a reason to not do it? I'll figure out
later what the proper permissions for such a file/directly should be.
Right now they are at 777.

mike



More information about the mythtv-users mailing list