[mythtv-users] strange order of expiry
Michael T. Dean
mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Wed Oct 18 15:02:32 UTC 2017
On 10/18/2017 07:29 AM, Brian J. Murrell wrote:
> If I look at what is scheduled to expire on my 0.27-fixes BE I find:
> Outlander:"Of Lost Things" 1284 MB 2017-10-02T01:00:00Z [ 0]
> Outlander:"Freedom & Whisky" 1104 MB 2017-10-09T01:00:00Z [ 0]
> "The Big Bang Theory":"The Retraction R 535 MB 2017-10-03T00:00:00Z [ 0]
> "The National" 1263 MB 2017-10-13T07:59:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1241 MB 2017-10-13T09:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1260 MB 2017-10-13T06:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1240 MB 2017-10-14T03:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-10-14T01:59:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1282 MB 2017-09-05T05:59:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-09-05T07:59:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1240 MB 2017-09-06T02:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-09-06T04:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-08-31T04:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-08-29T04:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1283 MB 2017-08-28T03:59:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1262 MB 2017-08-18T04:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 1241 MB 2017-08-19T04:00:00Z [ -5]
> "The National" 662 MB 2017-08-20T03:59:00Z [ -5]
> Amongst which I find a few oddities.
> * Lower priority recordings (i.e. -5) are being expired before higher
> priority recordings (i.e. 0)
Because you've set the setting:
Oldest show first
Lowest priority first
Weighted time/priority combination
Method used to determine which recorded shows to delete first. Live TV
recordings will always expire before normal recordings.
to expire the Lowest priority first.
> * Newer recordings are being deleted before older recordings
Possibly because of:
Watched before unwatched
If enabled, programs that have been marked as watched will be expired
before programs that have not been watched.
or just because with "Lowest priority first", they all have the same
priority for expiration, so they're "tied" and it doesn't matter.
Perhaps you want "Weighted time/priority combination"?
> Why are the above decisions in ordering being made?
> The above are all Deleted recordings, BTW, so in that measure (i.e.
> deleted or not) are of equal priority.
Note that if you don't like the order being used in accordance with the
settings you've specified, you can always manually delete a recording
from the Deleted recording group and it will be removed from disk.
Note, also, that if you change to Weighted time/priority combination,
you can affect the amount priority affects the decision with:
The number of days bonus a program gets for each priority point. This is
only used when the Weighted time/priority Auto-Expire method is selected.
More information about the mythtv-users