[mythtv-users] How do I enable Deleted Recordings group?

Raymond Wagner raymond at wagnerrp.com
Thu Apr 19 16:43:15 UTC 2012

On 4/19/2012 12:38, Thomas Boehm wrote:
> Trey Thompson wrote:
>> I found it.
>> In the FrontEnd
>> Setup, Video, General, 2nd page.
>> The "Time to retain deleted recordings (day):" setting.  This appears to
>> default to 0.  I changed it to 90.  Deleted a recording, and now there's
>> a "Deleted" group with the recording in it.
> That is not logical to me as I just wrote in another thread. Why is that
> setting in mythfrontend? It should be in mythtv-setup.

Consider it less backend setup, and more settings that require the 
backend be closed for file access, or otherwise restarted for the 
changes to take effect.

> This setting seems to have changed since the upgrade. I'm pretty sure
> that my setting was "delete permanently if space is needed" or similar.
> Now it was set to 0 which means "delete within the next 5 to 20
> minutes". Maybe it is a new setting and the old one is gone. IIRC it was
> called differently in 0.24...

In 0.25, all deletes are now postponed in this manner.  It gets marked 
for deletion, and the auto-expirer unlinks it as it sees fit.  By 
default, that runs once every 15 minutes, but can be faster if recording 
heavily and low on free space.

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list