[mythtv-users] Multiple hostname changes on DB restore?

Michael T. Dean mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Wed Nov 30 17:55:30 UTC 2011

On 11/30/2011 04:20 AM, Andrew Cranwell wrote:
> On 2011-11-30 09:03, Michael T. Dean wrote:
>> On 11/29/2011 05:11 PM, Andrew Cranwell wrote:
>>> Since it's a replacement for the old backend, is there any way to ditch
>>> all the sources/inputs, settings, etc. and only import the recordings?
>> Best bet is a full restore, then go into mythtv-setup and do a "Delete
>> all video sources", then reconfigure.  That won't reset settings to
>> defaults, but settings are mainly just frontend preferences.  Those can
>> be changed as you decide you don't like them.
> Is it possible to reset all the settings to defaults, then? Export the
> recorded programs tables from the database, drop the database and
> re-import a default (blank) database? Which tables store the recordings?

It's a complete and total waste of time during which you're putting your 
installation/configuration and data at risk, and in the end--if you do 
everything right--you end up with exactly what you would have had with a 
full restore of the pre-upgrade database backup or a full restore of the 
"upgraded before changing host names" backup and renaming the new host 
to some placeholder/garbage name so you can use it with the old 
backend's configuration.


MythTV automatically cleans up the database, so there's nothing you're 
gaining from a partial restore--except the savings of about 4kB of HDD 
space (max) and the ability to use one host name that you would 
otherwise use as a placeholder (i.e. "garbage" or "placeholder" or 
"tobedeleted" or "adkjsfdjasasdfjgh" or whatever placeholder you choose).

Again, the only 2 possible results of doing this are:  a) you end up 
with a system no better than what you would have with a full restore or 
b) you mess up your configuration or some part of it and your system is 
actually worse than what you would have had with a full restore.  In 
both cases--a) and b)--you will spend /significantly/ more time on the 
upgrade than if you just did a full restore (hours versus minutes).  
Make sure you read both of those wiki sections completely.  Note, also, 
that having a few extra settings doesn't qualify as corrupt data or 
schema (and, if you're really bothered by that 4kB of HDD space on the 
MySQL server, there are ways to remove  the settings--and I'm sure just 
about anyone can figure them out (at his own risk)).

OK, I forgot one real world benefit of a partial restore--the placebo 
effect.  I can't deny that one.  :)


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list