[mythtv-users] Re-record without deleting?

Jim Stichnoth stichnot at gmail.com
Mon Nov 28 02:37:20 UTC 2011

On Sun, Nov 27, 2011 at 8:38 AM, malcolm.torrent
<malcolm.torrent at gmail.com> wrote:
> On 27/11/2011 16:23, Jim Stichnoth wrote:
>> Is there a way to have a program re-record without first deleting the
>> original?  I have a collection of episodes that I transcoded, but I'm
>> not happy with the result and I'd like to record them again next time
>> they come around.  In the meantime, I don't want to lose the original.
>>   If the recording rule is still active, does this technically involve
>> removing the program from oldrecorded while keeping it in recorded, or
>> does duplicate matching also check the recorded table?
> 1. simply find the recording in mythweb open its page and click the
> 'forget old', this should get you a new copy assuming one is found in
> the schedule, see http://prntscr.com/4a2gg  for the example.
> or
> 2. Click Menu on the the recording via FE, go to Recording Options and
> select 'Allow this programme to re-record'.

Thanks. This is exactly what I was looking for.

> As a matter of interest, you may wish to take a copy of the original
> programme stream to experiment with your transcoding, then you won't
> affect your original. In fact if you've done this though a job, there's
> an option to keep the original anyway (IIRC), check your storage folders
> the original might still be there.

Most of these recordings are several years old, so there's not much
chance of that. :)  These days, I have ample disk space so I don't
bother with transcoding.


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list