[mythtv-users] [RFC] Proposed settings rework

Michael T. Dean mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Wed Nov 4 23:21:41 UTC 2009

On 11/04/2009 05:50 PM, Tom Dexter wrote:
> On Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 2:22 PM, Michael T. Dean wrote:
>> On 11/04/2009 07:56 AM, Tom Dexter wrote:
>>> One setting I never understood under the TV->General->AutoExpire
>>> settings is "Re-record watched".  Apparently that causes a show to be
>>> re-recorded
>> (actually, to "allow" re-recording)
>>>  if it's auto expired _and_ marked as watched.
>> Yes, because no matter what, if the show is marked as /not/ watched,
>> autoexpire will /always/ delete the file and set the episode to allow
>> re-recording.
>>>  For some
>>> reason mine was on, and certainly never set it, at least not
>>> intentionally...
>> It defaults to true because that means all programs are expired the
>> same--because of the always-on "allow re-record if not watched."
> Ahh...Thanks for clearing that up...that makes sense.  I'm assuming
> that 'allowing' re-record simply means deleting from oldrecorded?

Actually, it just sets the episode to not be considered for duplicate 
matching so as not to lose any recording history information.


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list