[mythtv-users] HVR-1600 scan (Digital) can't find any channels

Dale Pontius DEPontius at edgehp.net
Mon Mar 2 00:39:35 UTC 2009

Bryan Cromwell wrote:
> Have comcast in atlanta, I can get several digital channels on my plasma so
> I know they are out there. I can see all analog channels find but when I
> scan for digital (qam-256) I don't find anything at all. Am I missing
> something?  I have tried virtually every combination in the scan screen
> (cable,hrc,irc,256,126,64).
> cx18:  Start initialization, version 1.1.0
> cx18-0: Initializing card 0
> cx18-0: Autodetected Hauppauge card
> cx18 0000:02:09.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
> cx18-0: Unreasonably low latency timer, setting to 64 (was 32)
> cx18-0: cx23418 revision 01010000 (B)
> cx18-0: Autodetected Hauppauge HVR-1600
> cx18-0: Simultaneous Digital and Analog TV capture supported
> tuner 2-0043: chip found @ 0x86 (cx18 i2c driver #0-1)
> tuner 2-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx18 i2c driver #0-1)
> cs5345 1-004c: chip found @ 0x98 (cx18 i2c driver #0-0)
> cx18-0: Registered device video0 for encoder MPEG (64 x 32 kB)
> DVB: registering new adapter (cx18)
> cx18-0: DVB Frontend registered
> cx18-0: Registered DVB adapter0 for TS (32 x 32 kB)
> cx18-0: Registered device video32 for encoder YUV (16 x 128 kB)
> cx18-0: Registered device vbi0 for encoder VBI (20 x 51984 bytes)
> cx18-0: Registered device video24 for encoder PCM audio (256 x 4 kB)
> cx18-0: Registered device radio0 for encoder radio
> cx18-0: Initialized card: Hauppauge HVR-1600
> cx18:  End initialization
> cx18-0: loaded v4l-cx23418-cpu.fw firmware (158332 bytes)
> cx18-0: loaded v4l-cx23418-apu.fw firmware V00120000 (141200 bytes)
> cx18-0: FW version: (Release 2007/03/12)
> cx18-0 843: loaded v4l-cx23418-dig.fw firmware (16382 bytes)
I have the same card, and Comcast service in Vermont.  The only HD
channel I could find was QVC, but I don't have an HD set to compare my
results with.  I got QVC with the DVB scanning utilities, trying every
frequency table shipped with it - plus doctoring one of the tables to
extend the frequency range up to the limit of the card.  (It told me in
no uncertain terms when I passed the limit.)  When using the Myth
scanning utilities, I got a few blank channels, but nothing viewable.

I heard somewhere something about another scanning utility that doesn't
require putting in your own frequency tables, but don't remember any
specifics at the moment.

When I scanned with the DVB utilities there were more frequencies that
registered *something*, but I'm suspecting that they were encrypted.

Dale Pontius

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list