[mythtv-users] Why doesn't 'delete recording' actually mean 'delete recording'?

Phill Wiggin alamar at gmail.com
Thu Jan 22 15:58:53 UTC 2009

On Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 11:29 AM, <jarpublic at gmail.com> wrote:

> In the front end go to system status and there is section for auto-expire
> list. It shows what shows will auto-expire, the size of the file, and it
> list them in the order that they will expire. If there is anything on the
> list that you don't want to expire, just go to that recording and disable
> auto-expire for that recording. If you are referring to a single number for
> the amount of space that will be freed up by auto-expired recordings, that
> doesn't make very much sense. In my case all of my recordings would
> eventually be removed, since I have everything set to auto-expire by
> default.

You are, of course, right.   However, by immediately deleting shows that
I've watched, I don't have to bother with any of that.  I know with 100%
certainty that nothing on my Mythbox will be getting removed and that I have
X hours of video that I can record w/o having to go looking at "what's going
to die next?".

The difference is mainly that I get a warm fuzzy from not having to concern
myself with Myth removing things. I have a good hard number "X free space, Y
hrs of video".  I can go weeks w/o having to watch/delete any recordings,
just by glancing at one number on Mythweb. But, when X starts to get low, I
sit down and spend a couple of minutes weeding things out. (Happens pretty
rarely, since I delete recordings after watching, thus keeping X high.)  If
I relied on autoexpire, X would always be low, and I'd (personally) be
checking the 'to be expired' list daily. That's a lot more upkeep than I
currently do.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mythtv.org/pipermail/mythtv-users/attachments/20090122/f66c3da0/attachment.htm>

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list