[mythtv-users] Can't use 'delete and allow rerecord' for recordings when the file is missing

Dale Pontius DEPontius at edgehp.net
Sat Feb 21 03:20:02 UTC 2009

Michael T. Dean wrote:
> On 02/20/2009 09:11 PM, jarpublic at gmail.com wrote:
>> I lost all of my recordings, but that is a story in another thread. I
>> want to clear out all of the recordings from the database now, so that
>> when they come on again they will be recorded rather being skipped
>> because mythtv thinks they are previously recorded. My plan was to
>> select them in the watch recordings and the choose 'delete and allow
>> rerecord'. However, my only option for recordings with the source file
>> missing is 'delete'. I tried using the 'delete+record' option in
>> mythweb but that fails and does nothing. I am aware of the
>> mythtv.find_orphans script, but from what I can tell it just removes
>> the orphaned recordings from the recorded table. If I do that will the
>> shows still be in the previously recorded table and thus will not
>> record when they are aired again? Will the find orphans script work
>> for me. Or is there some manual way of removing these from the
>> previously recorded table? 
> Hit Delete, then in the "Are you sure" prompt, choose "Yes, Delete and
> allow re-record."
Or you can go into "Previously Recorded" and delete all knowledge of
them from the database.  If you had the recordings, that might strand
them, but since the files are already deleted...

Dale Pontius

More information about the mythtv-users mailing list