[mythtv-users] Deleted Group has 73 recordings? delete not working?

Michael T. Dean mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Tue Dec 8 02:21:00 UTC 2009

On 12/07/2009 03:31 AM, Paul wrote:
> On 7/12/2009 6:24 PM, Paul wrote:
>> I was just browsing Recorded programs with MythWeb and I noticed I 
>> have 73 recordings in the Deleted group.
>> Does this mean Delete is not working?
>> Is this a known issue? 
> I've found the cause , it must have been a new 0.22 default , I 
> reviewed the new setting which moves to Deleted Group, but the Max Age 
> for this group was = 0 so I set this to 1 day
> Perhaps the original setting is not a reasonable default , I think it 
> should be either deleted immediately or the Max Age should be set to 1 day

Deleted Max Age
When set to a number greater than zero, AutoExpire will force expiration 
of Deleted recordings when they are this many days old.

Its default is 0.  It existed in 0.21 (it was added during the 0.20-0.21 
development cycle just a couple of months after the "Auto Expire Instead 
of Delete Recording" option).

The default /must/ be 0, though, because we don't want to delete 
/anything/ at all unless a) the user tells us to or b) we have to delete 
something to make room for new recordings.

In truth, though, the setting isn't very useful as permanently deleting 
the recordings in the deleted recording group has no benefit at 
all--it's equivalent to telling the Linux kernel to not use RAM to cache 
disk contents.  It made sense at the time that the setting was added 
because users with full disks had no idea how much space was consumed by 
Deleted recordings, but that information (and information about how much 
space is used by LiveTV and auto-expirable recordings) is now reported 
in the backend status page (and will be reported in the frontend's 
System Status page "soon").

So, by telling your system to permanently delete any Deleted recordings 
after 1 day, you're saying, "There's no possibility whatsoever that I 
may reconsider whether I should have deleted that recording after the 
first 24 hours."

Unused storage is wasted storage.


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list