[mythtv-users] OT: Spam?

ccmail at bellsouth.net ccmail at bellsouth.net
Wed Jul 30 16:15:56 UTC 2008

> The thing that makes the email the most suspect is it has the prepended
> "[mythtv-users]" in the subject line.  I've gotten spam with the subject
> line "Anjelina Jolie XXX Video Free." in the past and I think the header
> could have easily been forged to make it seem like it came from the address
> mythtv-users at mythtv.org.  But the fact that it also has the subject line
> modified in the same manner as regular list messages is highly suspect that
> it wasn't the listserv that processed the email.

It WAS processed by the listserv.  I only get the combined MythTV digest to keep from getting flooded with MythTV email and it was in the digest (which is a single email with the last 30 or so mailing list messages).  It couldn't have gotten into the digest if it wasn't handled by the listserv.  A spammer has gotten ahold of the listserv posting address.  So be careful blocking the sender on that message because you may block everything from the list.


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list