[mythtv-users] How to expire deleted files like LiveTV recordings?

Robert RobertCL at iname.com
Tue Jan 8 17:22:20 UTC 2008

Brad DerManouelian wrote:
> On Jan 8, 2008, at 7:39 AM, Robert Longbottom wrote:
>> On Tue, January 8, 2008 3:26 pm, Brad DerManouelian wrote:
>>> On Jan 8, 2008, at 7:23 AM, Marc Sherman wrote:
>>>> Brad DerManouelian wrote:
>>>>> Why? Are they bothering you?
>>>> They fill up space that we could be putting videos into.
>>> If you want to reserve a certain amount of space for videos, you can
>>> tell myth to not use x MB of your drive.
>> This "Are they bothering you?" question always seems to come up  
>> whenever a
>> question like this gets asked, and yes, they obviously do bother  
>> people!
>> I like to be able to go and look to see how much free space I have for
>> upcoming recordings and to see that there is space, but I don't want  
>> to
>> stop Myth from using all of my drive..
>> Maybe, what is needed, rather than something to delete live-tv /  
>> "deleted
>> recordings" after a few days (although this would be nice ;) ), is a
>> better free-space-o-meter.  One that shows a breakdown of space used  
>> by
>> say, programs not allowed to expire, programs allowed to expire,  
>> livetv,
>> programs marked for deletion, etc.
>> Then you could look and say well I only have 150kb free on the disk,  
>> but
>> 10Gb of that is marked for deletion, and 5Gb is livetv, so I really  
>> have
>> 15Gb of space available for recording in.
>> Because while I don't mind Myth expiring things I recorded a year  
>> ago and
>> still haven't watched, I'd rather know when it is about to do this  
>> because
>> there might be some things I'd rather keep than others.
> The answer to "Are they bothering you?" allowed me to find out why he  
> wanted the space and I was able to offer an alternative that is  
> currently available which is much better than, "submit a patch"  
> response.
> Oh.. and LiveTV can be set to auto-expire within x days. I don't think  
> deleted can currently be set the same way, but if you're that  
> concerned about it, view all deleted, add all to a playlist and delete  
> all in the playlist. Should take about 20 seconds of your time.

All true, and I do currently have my livetv set to expire within x days. 
    I'm not bleeding edge enough to have the marked-for-deletion 
functionality yet, but when it comes I'm sure I'll use it either way as 
it seems like a good idea.


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list